ROADHAVEN REVIEW

OUR MONTHLY DIGITAL PUBLICATION AT ROADHAVE RESORT

For the Month of January 2022

This issue is for the month of January, 2022. Happy New Year! We have taken your feedback and created a compact, easy-to-read, update for all things Roadhaven.

WE HEARD WHAT YOU SAID

In creating the type of document that would best serve our community based on what we heard from you, the reader, we discovered new ways to bring you important information faster and easier, without flooding your inbox or having you scroll on and on to get to the information you need.

You’ll now find the two weekly Activities email blasts are replaced with fresh and useful content located on the Activities page. Both the Communications and Activities offices work each day to provide the most up-to-date information for Activities and Events at, and around, Roadhaven Resort. 

COMING SOON!

Rather than waiting to see which Clubs have announcements, you’ll soon be able to go directly to the Clubs page and view the most recent announcements for the clubs you directly participate or have an interest in. This page is under construction, keep checking back.

UPDATES IN REAL-TIME

You may have also noticed the scrolling ticker across the Roadhaven home page. This is where we will share quick, general need-to-know information and reminders. Click on images throughout the website to expand and swipe to navigate on mobile devices.

HOA MEMBERS PAGE

We now offer an easy to use HOA Members page with direct login access to your HOA member portal and have included step-by-step instructions on how to make your assessment payment. On the HOA Members page, you’ll also find the news you’d normally have to wait until the Friday email blast to receive. Member News includes regularly updated Home Owner Reminders, COVID-19 case count numbers, announcements from our General Manager, Frequently Asked Questions, and more.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Never miss another Board Meeting again. Easily find the latest meeting times and locations, along with Zoom links for those who wish to attend virtually, on our Board of Directors page.

GETTING THE MOST OUT OF ROADHAVEN.COM

We strongly urge you to explore our website regularly for the most up-to-date information involving all things Roadhaven.

A LOOK BACK AT 2021

We had several beautiful sunrises, fun parades, and shared tons of smiles. Visit our Facebook page or YouTube channel and take a look back on 2021 at Roadhaven Resort. 

Enjoy rediscovering your Roadhaven website!

JANUARY AT A GLANCE

1/3/22 Food Truck Monday
1/5/22 Free Rec. Hall Patio Music
1/6/22 Take Down Christmas Decorations
1/7/22 New Roadhaven Resident Orientation

1/8/22 Craft Fair
1/8/22 Big Show – Mr. Skynyrd (Lynyrd Skynyrd Tribute)
1/10/22 Rec Council Meeting
1/10/22 Food Truck Monday
1/12/22 All Clubs & Activities Open House
1/12/22 Free Rec Hall Music with Dave Waggoner
1/12/22 January Town Hall
1/14/22 Street Player “All Request” Dance

1/16/22 Line Dancers Dance
1/17/22 Food Truck Monday
1/18/22 January Monthly BOD Meeting
1/19/22 Shred-A-Thon Event
1/19/22 Free Patio/Rec Hall Music
1/20/22 Don Scott Fashions (Rec Hall)
1/21/22 Pickleball Fundraiser – DJ Eric

1/22/22 Craft Fair
1/22/22 BIG Show – TAD Management – Rock Me Gently
1/24/22 Food Truck Monday
1/26/22 Free Rec Hall Patio Music
1/27/22 Emphasis Advisors Planning Dinner

1/28/22 Softball Fundraiser Dance with Rick & Cal
1/31/22 Food Truck Monday

SAVE THESE DATES

FRI. 2/11 – John Denver Experience

SAT. 2/12 – Hill Billy Deluxe

MON. 2/14 – Valentine’s Day Happy Grams

SAT. 2/26 – Rhinestone Cowgirl & Elvis Greatest Hits

FOOD TRUCK TIME CHANGES

  • (4-7pm) Monday, January 3rd – Queso Good (Quesadillas, Tacos, Nachos)
  • (4-7pm) Monday, January 10th – Chef On The Go (Sandwiches & Fries)
  • (11am-2pm) Monday, January 17th – Brothers Seafood Sandwich (Shrimp, Crawfish, Salmon, Cod, Chowder)
  • (11am-2pm) Monday, January 24th – Bonzai Boys (Asian, Chinese, Japanese)
  • (11am-2pm) Monday, January 31st – Yum Rockets (Burgers & Chicken & Fries)

EVENTS & CLUB NEWS

Monday – Friday, 8:30 am – 1:30 pm

Closed Saturdays & Sundays

All Activity Office ticket sales are final. If you cannot re-sell your ticket(s), the Activities office may be able to help you. 

7:30 am – 8:30 am – Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, & Friday

Discounts on daily & weekly delivery right to your door.

For details, contact the Activity Office

Tuesday, January 18th at 7pm in the Rec Hall

Coffee & Donuts takes place every Tuesday beginning at 7am in the Rec Hall. At 8am we have sponsor presentations, club & activity office announcements

2nd & 4th Saturday of the month (January 8th & January 22nd) from 8am to 12noon. Coffee & Donuts available for purchase. Starting January 8th – Lunch will be offered starting on January 8th. So tuned for the posted lunch time. Menu will be BBQ Pork Sandwich, Chips, & a Drink. 

Wednesdays in the Rec Hall at 11:30am. Advance line dancing starts at 12:30pm. All are welcome

Meets every Tuesday in the Rec Hall from 2pm to 5pm. All are welcome!

Please note the time change: Mondays, Wednesdays, & Fridays 8:30am to 9:30am in the Rec Hall. All are welcome from beginner to intermediate

Class every morning from 9am – 10am Phase 1 Pool (Rec Hall Pool). This follows the Pool Noodle Class

 

Monday, January 10th at 1pm in the Rec Hall

Save the Date for January 7th from 12:30 – 2pm in the Rec Hall. We spend about an hour telling you all the “secrets” of Roadhaven to help you get acquainted in the neighborhood. Hope to see you there!

Tuesday, January 12th at 7pm in the Rec Hall

 

Friday with Pool Noodle 7:30am – 8:30am

Phase 1 Pool (Rec Hall Pool)

 

Played on Tuesdays, Thursdays, & Saturdays from 11am to 1pm at the Phase 1 Pool (Rec Hall Pool)

Continues in the book of Colossians, using the study guide “You are Alive in Christ”. All women are invited to join. We meet at 9am on Tuesday mornings in the Green Room. If you’d like more information, contact Sylvia Stern at 605-380-6110

UPDATES AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

A - G

Calling all artists and possible artists!

The Art Club is open and new members are welcome!  As more folks return in January, more specific dates of classes will be determined.  Currently Mondays is open watercolor.  The Beginning Watercolor Class is expected to start in January.  Also, Beginning Oil Painting class is scheduled for Tuesday mornings from 9-12:00.  Thursday afternoon is open oil painting.  We expect to have some great workshops and more classes on the January calendar. Our fun Paint Party is scheduled for February 10 where the art club sets up tables, provides the canvas, paints, etc. and you just come and paint, enjoy beverages, treats and friendship!   Membership brochures are in the Activity Office.

There has been a lot of exciting changes in the billiard club during the month of November. We have had many people join who haven’t played before. With our free lessons for new members every Monday and Thursday at 1:00 p.m. they are learning the game and having a lot of fun at the same time. Word of mouth is 

Spreading rapidly and our membership is growing.

The members meet every day at 1:00 p.m for friendly competition and Monday and Thursday at 7:00 p.m. Our new event every Wednesday for mixed couples at 7:00 p.m. has been a great success. Whether you’ve just started or been playing for years it’s a lot of fun.

OUR NEXT OPEN HOUSE will be Tuesday Jan 4th from 9:00 a.m. to Noon

The 2022 Bocce Season is about to begin!  Is your team signed up? Are you looking for team members? Do you need a team?  Do you want to be a substitute?  All will be answered at Registration on Thursday, January 6 at 1:00 in the Rec Hall for those teams not yet signed up.  Sandy Magnan, our Registrar, will appreciate your team’s registration early with the $10.00 dues per member. 

The General Meeting will follow Registration at 2:00. Following the General Meeting the Captains Meeting will be for ALL Captains. The agenda will include rules for play, bocce protocol for subs and time for questions.

 We ask that if you are not feeling well to please stay home.  We encourage all to adhere to the protocols outlined by the Roadhaven Board of Directors as the challenges of COVID remain with us.

The Bocce Ball Board apologizes for promoting the Fall League without a volunteer. If anyone is willing to help on Thursday from 9:00 -11:00 in organizing teams and answering questions, please email President Brian Zimmerman .  Ladies’ day on Tuesday’s at 9:00 -11:00 is also in need of person to welcome new members of our community interested in Bocce Ball.

We appreciate our maintenance crew headed up by Paul Murawski and Jim Zimmerman. Thank you all for getting the courts ready for league play on January 10, 2022! Let the fun begin!

Attention league bowlers:

2022 SEASON WILL BE AS FOLLOWS:

Jan 8, 2022 open meeting card room 11AM.

1st night of bowling Jan 12, 2022 6:30PM. – Mesa East Bowl 9260 East Broadway Road.

Last night of bowling March 23,2022 6:30PM

Closing meeting /Banquet March 25,2022 .

Fees remain at $13.00 weekly (11weeks)

Need More info email Mike Larson.

If you are interested in joining us in 2022 please use signup sheets in activity office on clip board near activity office window. We encourage both Regular bowlers and Substitutes. If you are a member of the league already sign up not necessary. 

Respectfully.

Mike Larson  Sec/Treasurer 2022

 

Welcome Bridge Players

Sunday partner social bridge   6:30 p.m.

 Wednesday partners social bridge 6:30 p.m.

Friday Social Duplicate bridge 12:50 p.m.

Please bring proof of vaccination

Come and join us for a relaxed friendly game of bridge

Starting Sunday Jan 2022  at 6:30p.m. to 9 .m.

We play partners bridge Sunday and Wednesday 6:30 to 9 p.m,

Friday 1p.m. social bridge

Bring .50 , a smile, a partner and your vaccination certificate.

Don’t pass up a chance to exercise your mind and have fun.

No partner?  Come early and we will try to find one for you

Haven’t played in a long time?  Come and watch. It will be a refresher from you.

See you at he bridge table.

Luci Weinman president bridge

Cost is $1.00 per week plus $1.00 for the season for the “Hole in One” pot. Sign-up sheet is in the Golf Shop hallway. Please sign up by 12:00 noon the Saturday before.

Cayman Golf will be played every Monday starting with the first tee time at 9:00 a.m. Tee times will be assigned by Sunday afternoon. We play a 4-person mixed scramble. Each golfer must use their tee shot on 2 holes, excluding hole #4. Hole #4 everyone will hit from the drop zone across the lake. It is a good way to meet new people. If you are interested or have questions, please call the Golf Shop at 480-982-4653.

Cayman offers an exciting new approach to the game of golf!  The Cayman is a golf ball developed to play like a conventional golf ball in every way except to travel approximately half the distance.  Also the Cayman ball floats on water hazards.  The Cayman rewards the player for a well hit ball.    

Hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season. If you are looking for something fun to do, stop by the Ceramics Club and check us out.

This month we are planning on having several classes open to everyone.  They are “painting on china”, “zipper art”, “decals” on ceramic pieces, and how to “dry brush”.  Watch for more details on when these classes are happening. 

We are still following safety guidelines due to Covid and keeping the Ceramics Room sanitary.

Christian Fellowship will meet Monday night   January 10th 7 p.m. in the Dakota room. Christian Fellowship is a time to get together for fun, entertainment, and fellowship. We will be holding meetings the 2nd and 4th Monday night of January February and March. January 10th we will have a short program by Pastor Arlan Hoskins.  We will also talk about positive New Year’s Resolutions to make rather than taking away negative habits. 

January 24 program to be announced, and February 14 will be a Valentine’s Day celebration. Other programs to be announced. 

We plan on you joining us. Any suggestions for future programs are welcomed.

Time to sign up for the Computer Club!!  Pick up a Membership Form from outside the Computer Lab and either put in park mail (Box 667) , bring it to the lab on a Saturday morning or before a class, or sign up at the All Club Open House on January 12th.

There are many reasons to sign up for the Computer Club:

Use of Lab which includes encrypted WIFI, lab hours 9 am to 9 pm

Use of scanner, printers (color and b/w) for a nominal fee

Computer Classes that take you from whatever level you are at, to another step forward

Saturday morning “help” sessions where you can get one-on-one help with questions or computer issues

Bring your own computer, laptop, tablet, phone, or use one of our Lab Stations

Cost is $20 per household

Classes include such topics as Streaming Media, Google Photos, Phones, Chromebook, Windows 10, Shutterfly, Facebook, Social Media, Cloud Computing, Lab Orientation, Chrome, Apps, Google Calendar, ETC!!  

Happy New Year from all of us in Creative Crafts.  As we enter a new year we look forward to many new activities in our club.  We have several classes on the schedule including Quilting 202 which is always a fun experience.  It will be taught by Rosalind McGarrigle who is a wonderful teacher.

We will continue to have our Wednesday night sewing for the Craft Fare.  We have made many new projects this season and we always welcome suggestions for what people may want. 

This season we are not making quilts for the homeless due to lack of a leader.  As much as we appreciate your donations, we ask that you hold off on bringing sheets and blankets to the sewing room.  We just don’t have enough room to store them.

We hope that you will join us on January 12th for the Open House.  We always have many beautiful works that our members have made.  Plus, don’t forget about our delicious treats!

Cribbage starts Tuesday, January 4th from 7 – 9pm in the Card Room. Just $.25 cents to play. Please Bring Proof of Vaccination. 

Every Tuesday & Friday at 7:00 P.M in the GREEN ROOM

Euchre is a card game where 4 players (2 teams of 2) take 

turns playing cards to win tricks. Partners sit across from  each other and cooperate to win. It’s an easy game to learn and a lot of FUN if you’re just learning how to play.

Everyone Welcome

2022!  We made it!  Happy New Year to everyone from the Board of Directors of the Fitness Club, along with our best wishes for happiness and good health in the new year.  To those new to Roadhaven or just new to fitness, drop by the Wellness/Fitness Center, located by the Cantina, to check out our facility and to see what we have to offer.  The gym may feel small when you first walk in, but the equipment is top-rate, and will allow you to strength train or work on your cardiovascular health as well as you could in facilities with bigger footprints.

If you’ve been thinking for a while about getting into better shape, start the new year by starting a fitness program.  Benefits of regular exercise include reducing the risk of chronic disease, improving balance and coordination, and helping with weight loss. But if you haven’t exercised for some time or have health issues, talk to your doctor or a trainer before starting a fitness routine.

And if looking at all the equipment leaves you wondering what to do or where to start, people working out in the gym will be likely be able to answer the questions you may have, but better yet, stop in and talk to Crystal, our trainer.  She is our resident expert, and leads orientation sessions on equipment in the gym, so watch for the sign-up sheets.  You could also talk to her about what she can offer to assist you on your path to fitness.  Her fees are in addition to club fees, but as a new club member you will receive a free introductory training session.  

To join the Fitness Club, fill out a form available by the main door and stick in the in-park mail.  Memberships are $25 per person, $40 for couples.  Fees collected pay for new equipment as needed and for maintenance expenses on existing equipment.  The Board of Directors, plus a few volunteers, clean the facility once a month, so as a new member, consider joining the rest of us on facility clean-up night.  The date and time for the clean-up will be posted in fitness center.   

F - S

Glass Crafters is open and wants to welcome everyone back.  We know everyone is hoping for a more “normal” year.  In the glass studio we are temporarily asking everyone to wear a mask.  We will be using social distancing for our work stations.  Hand sanitizer and cleaning supplies are also available. 

This past month we have been offering beginner classes in stained glass and fused glass.  More will be starting soon along with more advanced classes.  If you are interested, please check in the studio see what classes are scheduled and to sign up.  The membership fee is $15.00 for the year.  Each class has a small fee to cover supplies.  All equipment needed is provided by the studio.

Glass Crafters will be holding our annual fundraiser again this year.  We will be raffling off many items made by our members.  Come and check out some of the items.  They will be on display in the studio window.  We will also be offering a few special items in a silent auction.  Raffle tickets will be available after the first of the year.

This summer we acquired a new large kiln and had the rest of our kilns all checked for repairs and safety.  New electrical outlets were installed to allow for more work stations.

We have expanded our hours this year.  We will be open Monday – Friday from 9-12 and 1-4.  We’re also open Tuesday and Thursday evenings from 6-9.  New this year, we will be open Saturday mornings from 9-12.

Come by any time and explore your creative talents.

Weekly meeting, every Tuesday from 10 am to 12 pm in the Rec Hall. 

Get ready to build your family history. A genealogy club is a group of individuals who get together to talk about and work on their personal genealogical research. They gather to share tips, exchange information, and talk about their history. You can learn how to prepare a research plan, evaluate evidence and techniques to discover new sources. Learn how to evaluate genealogical software and improve your skill in reading old handwriting. If you’d like more information about this interesting club, please contact Wayne Ratcliff 

If you enjoy our beautiful Arizona mountains and deserts, the Roadhaven Hiking Club has some fun in store for you!  We schedule hikes for people at various levels of fitness and experience, from short hikes on level terrain to long treks up mountains or down into canyons.  We offer several hikes most weeks, and we’re also making plans for an overnight camping trip in March.  In between those activities, we are arranging for monthly socials during the winter. 

To learn more about the hiking club, come to the hikers’ bulletin boards in the hallway between the Activities Office and the Card Room.  You can see which hikes are being offered each week and get more information.  Come and enjoy Arizona’s breathtaking views with us!

—Marilyn Carver, Secretary

New to Roadhaven?

Renters and Owners, you are invited to attend Roadhaven Orientation scheduled once per month.  Next session will be on January 7th from 12:30pm to 2:00 pm in the REC HALL.   Presentation includes all the ins and outs of living at Roadhaven including website, clubs, volunteer opportunities, activities, amenities, restaurant, etc.  Great place to meet other residents.  

Hospitality Information Center – Stop by!

The Hospitality Information Center is run by volunteers who are excited about sharing their Roadhaven experiences with anyone who might be considering making Roadhaven their home – both renters and owners.  They are also available to answer questions that current residents might have.  If you have any questions about any aspect of the park (clubs, rules, amenities, activities, etc), please stop by and we will do everything we can to assist you.  If you are new to the park, consider attending Roadhaven Orientation held monthly in the REC Center.  Also, the Center provides tours to both prospective residents as well as new residents.  All you need to do is stop by and sign up.  The tour will help you become familiar with the park to make your adjustment to Retirement life easier! 

 Hospitality Volunteers Needed

We are going to expand our Hospitality Hours to 9 am to 3 pm Monday to Saturday beginning January 10th.  It is going to take 36 volunteers to make that happen!  Volunteers sign up for a 2-hour shift, once per week.  We are also in need of SUBS to fill in occasionally.  Training is provided.  Qualifications are simply the willingness to share your knowledge with others.  For tours, there is a bit of walking involved.  To sign up for a shift, simply fill out the form.

Happy New Year!

We want to give a great big welcome back to our Canadian friends and all of you who were absent last year because of COVID. 

Our Roadhaven’s Karaoke Club is a perfect place & time to try karaoke for the first time. We meet every Tuesday afternoon from 2:00 – 5:00 pm. Are you looking to try something new for 2022, making new friends and having a good time? Then look no further, it’s an invitation to come sing out a tune that the audience will probably recognize and sing along with too.  New singers are always welcome. Masks are suggested for all indoor activities. 

Make sure to visit our club’s exhibit at the All Clubs Open House on Wednesday, January 12th. Have any questions? We’ll be happy to answer them.

Come join the 103 men that have joined Men’s League as of December 15th

No “hole in one” yet, jackpot stands at $515 and growing weekly.  You can’t get a shot at the jackpot if you don’t join Men’s League.

Team division starts January 6th.  The guys form 2 person teams that play a round robin schedule. It will be scheduled as a part of our 1 o’clock tee time. Congratulations to the team of Jerry Jeremiason and Howard Larson  who placed first last season. Our Match Play tournament is also scheduled to start in January with signup going on through January 6th.

Looks like BBQ time.  It’s scheduled for January 27th. 

Our $10 dues includes entry into the “hole in one“ jackpot and a couple of BBQ’s.  Your significant other is also included in our second BBQ.  Where can you get a better deal?

Join Men’s league and enjoy a little competitive golf.  Get in on the Match Play Tournament. Team Play will probably be full by the 1st of the year.  Try to get a part of the “hole in one” jackpot.  Sign up on one of the weekly tee time sheets (on the men’s bulletin board in the club house hallway) before Wednesday noon and then show up at your assigned starting hole according to the tee time that you signed up for.  An email will be sent Wednesday afternoon to indicate where your starting hole is. 

Questions, contact

Email Ted Reisdorfer

 

Welcome back to our members just arriving in the park. So far this year, we have 83 members in the Par Tee Ladies League. New members may join the club on any Wednesday throughout the season.  Our signup system has changed this year. The following week sign-up sheets are on the clip boards in the hallway by the door. Cut off time is 4:00 pm Monday. The sheets are collected and teams completed for Wednesday play. Emails will be sent out with tee Times and hole assignments Tuesday evening.

Due to the new covid restrictions, we will be meeting on the patio 15 minutes before tee times for announcements and to pick up the score cards. Proceed to tee boxes and tee off. A friendly reminder to repair your divets and fill in with grass seed when necessary to keep our golf course in great shape.  

On the first Wednesday of the month, we will be collecting the $4.00 payout fee. We only collect money the first week of the month to keep the values equal for the weekly payout amounts. If you miss this, you will not be in the payout for the month. You are always welcome to pay the full amount for the season lump sum. Monthly payout is last Wednesday of the month.

Jackie Beatty represented the Par Tee Ladies at the last council meeting on December 13th. Thank you, Jackie. 

The Part Tee Ladies participated in the Christmas parade with their fancy decorated golf carts. Fun had by all. Thanks girls.

The upcoming events are:

January 5th Winter league starts 

Jan 12th Road Haven All Clubs Open House. Regular golfing day for all members.

Everyone enjoy the holiday season and stay safe

Roadhaven’s Pickleball Club is already in the swing of things for the 2021/2022 season. The schedule of court activity is posted on the bulletin board at the courts as well as being part of the membership application, which are also available at the courts. The pickleball courts are located next to the phase one tennis courts and just across the canal from the shuffleboard courts.

Of particular interest to those who are either curious about pickleball or are new pickleballers, on Tuesdays from 12:00 to 2:00 pm the club is hosting beginner lessons. We encourage anyone in the park to come join us and learn the fundamentals of our very fun, energetic and highly social sport.

Our club president this season is Cindy Proctor, who may be emailed here. She is a great source of information on the club. Alternatively, you may also contact our vice president, email Marty Eckerman.

While the courts do have scheduled times for anyone to play pickleball, whether club members or not, the best option for learning and playing is to join the club. The dues for the 2021/2022 season remain the same as prior years at $25 per person. Family or guests staying for a short time at Roadhaven may purchase a restricted membership good for 14 days for $10. Once you become a member, the club will communicate with you by email regarding activities. We also have a club meeting each Wednesday morning at 9:30 at the courts to stay up to date on club happenings and plans.

Here is a complete list of contacts for the club for the current season:

President, Cindy Proctor  

Vice President, Marty Eckerman

Treasurer, Lise Jennings 

Secretary, Scott Faris 

Now, go forth and dink your hearts out*

*A dink is a shot you use to make your opponent’s next shot unattackable. To learn more fun pickleball terms, join us on the courts.

GOOD NEWS!!!!

“Rhythms in Blue” will start rehearsing in January!  After a year and a half off because of Covid, we are ready to once again make music.  Please join us for a once a week rehearsal in the Dakota Room (Thursdays from 4:00 to 6:00).  Note, that this is a change from previous years.  We are hoping many of our new residents will want to become involved in this FUN group!  WE ARE PRESENTLY IN NEED OF AN ACCOMPANIST, SO IF YOU KNOW SOMEONE OR CAN HELP YOURSELF, PLEASE LET US KNOW!  You can contact Don Warrick at donwarrick@gmail.com.

We have a new director this season.   His name is Don Warrick!  Don just recently moved to Roadhaven.  He is a choral director with decades of experience! He has conducted Handel’s Messiah, Vivaldi’s Gloria and everything from Pachelbel to POP!!! Don taught voice at Wright State University for 10 years and was featured performer with the Dayton Philharmonic!

We look forward to seeing many new faces on Thursday, January 6th at 4:00 pm in the Dakota Room!!!

Welcome back to all interested slow-pitch softball players for another season!

Normally we enter Roadhaven teams in 55+, 65+ 70+ leagues as well as tournaments based on player availability.

The fall league usually commences in early November on Monday’s & the winter leagues in early January. We invite any interested players to come out & join in the fun & friendly competition.

The batting cage will be set up in mid-November for players to warm up for the season. The cage is accessible to all Roadhaven residents by contacting a member of the RSA for access & accompaniment.

The RSA serves as a valuable park-wide group not only for the provision of recreational activities, but equally as important provides many hours of labor in the setup & teardown for activities & events being held in the Rec Hall & in handling the aluminum can recycling program in our park. We appreciate the participation of all RSA members in these valuable contributions to our community.

To learn more about Roadhaven Softball or any specifics about leagues, practices, games & membership, please visit the RSA website under activities/clubs or contact any member as listed. We look forward to seeing you out this season whether as a player or spectator.

LET’S PLAY BALL!!

Bob Anderson,

Secretary, RSA

January is here and Roadhaven Shuffleboard starts the New Year with a full week of events.  January 3-4 our courts co-host the first two days of the Lost Dutchman split singles tournament with Rock Shadows.  On January 6th, the first games of the new East Valley League will be played.  Our in park member league will start January 7th.  Watch the bulletin board at the courts for the team listings and court clean up schedule.

Our first member meeting of 2022 will be at 7:00 pm on January 6th in the Green Room.  All members are encouraged to attend to have input in the club activities and future plans.

Shuffleboard will be hosting our ever popular Sunday Shuffle on January 16th at 3pm at the Shuffleboard courts.  Residents are invited to come to the courts and learn about our sport.  All the necessary equipment is provided along with one on one assistance in playing and scoring.  Watch the Shuffleboard wall for signs reminding you of the day and time!  

Our in park member mixed doubles tournament will be on January 24-25 so be certain to sign up for that fun event.

Karen Fodchuk and Brian Scott placed 2nd in championship at the Wilf Clark Mixed Doubles at Mesa Spirit.  In the District IV Split Singles at Rock Shadows, Shirley Jerome placed second in consolation and Karen Fodchuk will represent our District at the State meet by placing first in championship.  Congratulations to our Roadhaven Shufflers!

We end the month of January and kick off February by hosting the very popular Lost Dutchman Split Doubles.  Brian Scott is the tournament director and there will be some great competition at the courts during that event.  

There is a notice and sign up form at the courts for free lessons on playing and court protocol for people wanting to learn more about the game of shuffleboard.   

Everyone is welcome to watch and ask questions anytime you see folks playing.  We’d love to teach you the game and proper court preparation.

T - Z

ALL ABOUT TENNIS – January 2022    

Happy New Year!!!! We hope your holidays were restful and rejuvenating! Looking forward to a peaceful 2022. 

Tennis Club Membership – Regular membership is $40. Social (non-playing) membership is $10. Forms are located on the bulletin boards.  If you are playing League tennis, please pay our Treasurer Dayle Denton prior to your first match.

New Members– A warm welcome to Shawn MacKenzie, Lisa Rouse, David Rainey, Derek Wade, Al Kiecker, Sharon Turnbull and Carol Baker…. the newest members of the Tennis Club. Go Red!!

Tournaments – SSV – December 11  Invitational Tennis Fun – “Two parks getting together once a year to play with and against each other for fun.”

SVE – December 18 – 20   Holiday Mixed Doubles Tournament

RH – February 10 – 12  Colors Tournament – Well-Suited for Tennis  (RH only) Sign ups coming soon.

EVSTL League Tennis – The second half of the season is kicking off on January 3rd. Our captains are doing an outstanding job. Come watch us at home. Go Red! 

Marketplace Board – Tennis gear you need or want to sell? Check out the Marketplace on the bulletin boards. 

Rating Matches -If you would like to play EVSTL League and have not been rated, you can request a Rating Match. Forms are on the bulletin boards.

Lessons for Beginners – If you are a beginning player and would like to try free lessons contact Ron Nelson at (425) 246-6328. We have loaner racquets.

Editor:  Colleen Nelson 

Week The purpose of the Time Out organization is to relieve residents of Roadhaven who are giving care to a spouse, or relative that is either terminally ill, or undergoing temporary health problems.  The “Time Out” group will relieve the care givers who either need to run errands, purchase groceries, pick up prescriptions, or just get away for a few hours.  Our primary goal is to provide support to the care giver and to spend the necessary time with his or her spouse, friend, or relative, so that the care giver can get some personal time away from his or her duties as the primary care giver.  If interested in volunteering some time (usually 2-hour sessions) as a Time Out volunteer, or if you have any questions about Time Out, please call Bill or Jo Kramer. Also, anyone who could use our services, please contact us.  

The woodshop is back in full swing. It’s great to see all of the old faces and many new members.  Its enjoyable to see the projects that new members bring as well as their different skills and ideas. This adds to the wealth of knowledge among shop users.

The woodshop will not be sponsoring our Spaghetti Dinner this year because of Covid concerns in the park.  However, the shop membership voted to hold the raffle of shop member’s projects usually held with the dinner.  The drawing will be held on February 17, 2022.  Tickets will be available at the woodshop or for sale at most events in the park.

Woodshop members will be cooking hot dogs for the Open House Day sponsored by Activities. In addition to cooking, raffle tickets will be available, and the woodshop will hold a silent auction.

The woodshop offers classes in basic woodworking skill, a beginner’s bowl turning class as well as a segmented bowl turning class. These a typically held in January.  Stop into the shop for info. 

As always, shop membership dues are $20 per year which provides use of top-of-the-line equipment, sandpaper, glue, and other shop necessities. A lot of free advice comes with. 

There will be an informational / registration meeting for those interested in learning how to Chip Carve on Tuesday, January 4th  at 5pm in the Green Room. I was hoping to start teaching on that day but we don’t yet have any practice boards because we don’t yet have any money to buy them.  You have an eager instructor (me) and a class set of Chip Carving Knives that will be loaned out for the class and gathered up at the end of class. The cost is $20 for the season. Bring cash as we are not set up for credit cards or cheques. Classes will be Mondays, 12:00 – 2:00 and Wednesdays 4:30 – 6:30 in the Green Room. I hope to start classes on Wed Jan 12th.  Email Jim Lindgren if you have any questions.

Remember David Letterman had his Top 10 Lists?  Well, this is my Top 12 List of Reasons Why You Should Learn How to Chip Carve.

  1. It’s easy. It only looks difficult. Even the most complex pattern can be broken down into a series of 2 sided chips (called canoes) and 3 sided chips (called…. wait for it….triangles). Learn to carve these 2 simple chips and you are a chip carver.
  1. It’s inexpensive. All you need are 2 knives. A Chip Carving Knife which does the majority of all your cuts and a Stab Knife to use occasionally to add decorative details.
  1. It’s compact and portable. I used to take my carving with me when I toured on my motorcycle.
  1. Patterns are readily available and easy to transfer to the wood. Not a great artist? You don’t need to be.  Others have already created patterns for you.  Most are free. If you have a quilter in the family, you have patterns.  Many carvers steal…. I mean borrow…quilting patterns.
  1. It’s gifts. Much of what you carve, you will give away to friends and family. Would they rather have something you created with love or something plastic from Walmart made in China? Some of your creations could become family heirlooms.
  1. It satisfies a creative urge we all have. We can’t all be Mozart’s and Da Vinci’s but that doesn’t mean we don’t need to create.
  1. It’s therapy. After a really bad day/week/month/year, it is very relaxing. You can feel the stress dissolve away.
  1. It’s safe. With a sharp knife and proper technique, it is almost impossible to cut yourself. Notice I said “almost”
  1. Clean up is very easy. Chip carvers do not create sawdust. They create chips which can easily be swept or vacuumed up.  Beware of the chips caught in the nap of the carpet when you are barefoot in the middle of the night. It’s kind of like stepping on Lego.
  1. It’s a gateway to other types of carving. Some learn to chip carve and that is all they ever do. Many become addicted and can’t wait to try carving in the round, or caricature, or relief, or bark or chainsaw or whatever. This is where it can get expensive because different types of carving require different tools.
  1. Resources are readily available. Many projects come in kit form for those who don’t have access to a woodshop. Wood, classes, and other supplies are available in Phoenix or online.
  1. Expert instruction is available, right here, right now. My wife and I will be here at Roadhaven until mid-April.

For more information on woodcarving or to learn how to wood carve Email Jim Lindgren.

Paid Advertisments and Sponsors

Event Flyers and Promos