ROADHAVEN REVIEW

OUR MONTHLY DIGITAL PUBLICATION AT ROADHAVE RESORT

For the Month of February 2022

ROADHAVEN REVIEW

Welcome to the February 2022 Roadhaven Review. Below you will find February at a glance broken down by week, important dates you might want to save, general Activity Office news, and announcements from Roadhaven Clubs.

We have redesigned the Roadhaven Review to look much like the Clubs page of the website so you can become familiar with navigating it. Our goal is to make available to you, the most up-to-date club information that is easy to find. 

Remember to check the information ticker on the homepage for quick access to important reminders. Just below the information ticker, you’ll find our handy search feature. Type in your keyword to search the site.

We also offer online support with our website manager. If you have any questions regarding our website or have technical difficulties, please reach out to him directly by clicking on the chat icon located in the lower-left corner of our website. Chat availability is the same as our seasonal office hours. Chats opened before or after office hours will be sent via email and responded to by the following business day. 

GETTING THE MOST OUT OF ROADHAVEN.COM

We urge you to explore our website regularly for the most up-to-date information involving all things Roadhaven. If you need help navigating the site, click here to sign up for training. 

FEBRUARY AT A GLANCE

2/2/22          Rec. Hall Patio Music

2/3/22          Bocce Ball Meeting

2/3/22          Barleens Rock N Roll Dinner Show

2/4/22          Bocce Ball Fundraiser Dance – Reign N Country

2/6/22           Alberta Golf Tournament

2/7/22           Food Truck Monday

2/8/22           Organ Stop Pizza

2/8/22           Candidate Forum

2/9/22           Rec. Hall Patio Music

2/9/22           Information Session

2/10/22         Paint Party

2/11/22          John Denver Experience

2/12/22         Craft Fair

2/12/22         BIG Show – Ansel Shows – Hillbilly Deluxe Show

2/13/22         Line Dancers Dance

2/14/22         Food Truck Mondays

2/14/22         Valentines Happy Grams

2/15/22         Monthly BOD Meeting

2/16/22         Rec. Hall Patio Music

2/17/22         Woodworkers Fundraiser Silent Auction

2/18/22         Karaoke Fundraiser – Come Back Buddy

2/20/22        Golf Tournament Fundraiser

2/20/22        Pickleball Meeting

2/21/22         Food Truck Monday

2/23/22         Rec. Hall Patio Music

2/25/22         Don Scott Fashions (Rec Hall)

2/26/22         Craft Fair

2/26/22         Thane Dunn Presents – Elvis Greatest Hits

2/27/22         Can Am Games

2/28/22         Food Truck Monday

SAVE THESE DATES

  • Friday, Feb 4 – Bocce Ball Fundraiser Dance
  • Thursday, Feb 10 – Art Club Paint Party
  • Friday, Feb 11 – John Denver Experience
  • Saturday, Feb 12 – Hill Billy Deluxe Concert/Show
  • Monday, Feb 14 – Valentine’s Day Happy Grams
  • Thursday, Feb 17 – Woodshop Raffle Fundraiser
  • Friday, Feb 18 – Karaoke Fundraiser Dance
  • Saturday, Feb 26 – Elvis Greatest Hits Show
  • Tuesday, March 1 – Mardi Gras Parade
  • Thursday, March 3 – All Residents Birthday Celebration
  • Friday, March 4 – Not So Newly Wed Game Show & Dinner
  • Saturday, March 5 – Community Wide Patio Sale
  • Saturday, March 5 – Art Show
  • Monday, March 7 – Cul-De-Sac Cowboys
  • Tuesday, March 8 – Annual HOA Meeting
  • Friday, March 11 – Surefire Country Dance
  • Saturday, March 12 – Journey Tribute Concert/Show
  • Wednesday, March 16 – Rhythm in Blues FREE Spring Concert
  • Thursday, March 17 – St. Patrick’s Day Parade
  • Friday, March 18 – Otis & The Beat Dance
  • Saturday, March 19 – Mr. Skynyrd Concert
  • Thursday, March 24 – Bingo Bonanza
  • Thursday, March 24 – Audrey Hicks & The Sierra Outlaws Dance
  • Saturday, March 26 – End of Season Party with Rick & Cal
  • Saturday, April 2 – Street Party with Roadhaven Rock & Rollers

ACTIVITY OFFICE NEWS & ANNOUCEMENTS

Monday – Friday, 8:30 am – 1:30 pm

Closed Saturdays & Sundays

All Activity Office ticket sales are final. If you cannot re-sell your ticket(s), the Activities office may be able to help you. 

Discounts on daily & weekly delivery right to your door.

For details, contact the Activity Office

Tuesday, February 15th at 7pm in the Rec Hall

Coffee & Donuts takes place every Tuesday beginning at 7am in the Rec Hall. At 8am we have sponsor presentations, club & activity office announcements.

2nd & 4th Saturday of the month (February 12th & February 26th) from 8am to 12noon. Coffee & Donuts available for purchase.

Food Trucks will be on-site 4 pm – 7 pm

Monday, February 7th – Tzikii Food Truck (Gyros, Falafel, Chicken Shawarma, Shrimp Baskets, Salads, Fries)

Monday, February 14th – Fajitas Freaks (Tacos, Fajitas, Mexican Pizza, All Veggie Options)

Monday, February 21st – Tea & Taters (Loaded Baked Potatoes, Various Ice Teas)

Monday, January 24th – It’s Seoul Good (Korean BBQ, Marinated Ribeye, Short Ribs, & Chicken, Rice, Fries)

Roadhaven Orientation – Friday, Feb 4th from 12:30 to 2:00 pm in the REC Hall.  Come and learn about Roadhaven, ask questions and meet your neighbors.

Hospitality will be handling the Blue Ribbon Rental program.  For complete details, stop by the Hospitality and Information Center.  If you are the owner of a rental property, we hope you will be interested in participating!  

 

Monday, February 14th at 1pm in the Rec Hall

The purpose of the Time Out organization is to relieve residents of Roadhaven who are giving care to a spouse, or relative that is either terminally ill, or undergoing temporary health problems.  The “Time Out” group will relieve the care givers who either need to run errands, purchase groceries, pick up prescriptions, or just get away for a few hours.  Our primary goal is to provide support to the care giver and to spend the necessary time with his or her spouse, friend, or relative, so that the care giver can get some personal time away from his or her duties as the primary care giver.  If interested in volunteering some time (usually 2-hour sessions) as a Time Out volunteer, or if you have any questions about Time Out, please call Bill or Jo Kramer at 480-982-4937.  Also, anyone who could use our services, please contact us.

 

Wednesday, February 9th at 7pm in the Rec Hall

CLUB UPDATES AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

Updated Club information is easier than ever to find. Click to navigate through the tabs to find your favorite clubs. Each club has a tab labeled “LATEST CLUB ANNOUNCEMENTS.” Here is where you will find the most updated information, directly from our Clubs’ officers.

ARTS CLUB

Welcome to Roadhaven’s art club! We offer classes and open painting for watercolor, sketching, oil, acrylic, etc. We also offer occasional workshops. All are welcome to check us out!

We are located just west of the Recreation Hall.

To learn more or join the Art Club, please contact any of the Officers on the Officer list, or come visit us in the Art Studio.

$20 fee for joining the Art Club effective for the 2022/2023 season. Renting drawers for a small fee to store your art supplies is optional.

Annual Paint party and Art Show

We will be cleaning and closing the Art Club April 4, 2022. We expect to reopen in early November.

We will be cleaning and closing the Art Club April 4, 2022. Volunteers appreciated.

Have a GREAT summer and hope to see you next season!

BILLIARDS CLUB

The Roadhaven Billiards clubs has nicest room in the valley, with 12 very well maintained pool tables that are kept in the finest condition. The Billiard Club uses the membership fees and other fundraising efforts to regularly replace the cushions and the cloth on the pool tables, in turn, keeps these tables in peak performance.

There have been a lot of exciting changes in the club recently. We have had many people join who haven’t played before. With our free lessons for new members every Monday and Thursday at 1:00 p.m. they are learning the game and having a lot of fun at the same time.

Word of mouth is spreading rapidly and our membership is growing. The members meet every day at 1:00 p.m. for friendly competition and Monday and Thursday at 7:00 p.m. Our new event every Wednesday for couples at 7:00 p.m. has been a great success. Whether you’ve just started or been playing for years, it’s a lot of fun.

Who can use the Billiard Room?

With 12 tables in the room there are 4 tables along the window. On the wall of the pool area that are for use by all residents of Roadhaven. The other 8 tables that are separately identified are for use by members of the Billiard Club.

When can we use the tables to play?

The room is open, and the tables are available to use every day until 10 p.m.

I have never played so why would I join the club?

Every member of the Billiard club has free lessons available. We have lessons on Monday and Thursday from 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. Also Wed evening from 7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. The best part is that new players play with people of their own skill level and as a result they are having a lot of fun and learning fast.

Do I have to play in competition, or can I play for fun?

We have something for every member. Roadhaven billiard members play in 3 different leagues that offer competition for those that are interested.  We also have open play every day at 1:00 p.m. There is no commitment required. If you want to play just show up. If you are busy that’s ok as well. The emphasis for every member is fun.

  • $20 each or $30 for a couple.

There are no fundraisers scheduled at the moment.

Events:

MIXED PLAY EVERY WED. AT 7:00 P.M. Both MEN AND WOMEN members are welcome. The only thing on the menu is FUN.

Free Lessons for Members every Monday and Thursday at 1:00 p.m

Mixed Play every Wed. evening at 7:00 p.m.

Open play every day at 1:00 p.m. and Monday and Thursday evening at 7:00 p.m.

As our season wraps up we would like to notify everyone as of April 1st the Billiard room will be closed because of RENOVATIONS.

WE ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO OCTOBER AND OUR NEW LOOK.

BOCCE BALL CLUB

Club members must be Owners or Renters at Roadhaven. 

League play is Monday – Friday at 12:30 pm and 3:00 pm.  Teams are allowed 2 hours during the regular season to complete 3 games.

League play begins in January and the Tournament ends early March with a March Banquet to announce and congratulate the winners. Beginning November 1, the courts are reserved for Ladies’ play on Tuesdays 9 am-11 am and Fall League play on Thursdays.

League Fees are currently $10 per person, per season, to play in the leagues.  Club members must be Owners or Renters at Roadhaven. 

Can anyone use the Bocce Ball Court?

Yes! Residents can play anytime EXCEPT on Tuesday 9-11 (ladies only), during league play (M-F 12-5) OR when maintenance is being done at the courts. Sign-up sheets are on the bulletin board.

What happens if it rains?

Captains meet at the Rec Hall at the appointed game time. Team captains come up with a mutually agreed time to play.

Can a player come late and still play?

Yes, Each team member present must play at least one game.

Can we play bocce ball during the summer?

Yes, Contact Sandy Magnan at rhbocceball@gmail.com or 707-485-4288 for equipment.

Membership dues $10.00

Congratulations to our 2022 Tournament Winners…

1st place Whiz Bangers
2nd place Purple Reign
3rd Place Bocce Bosses
4th Place Ralf Rollers

The League Winners were The X Team, Chew Bocce, Big Lake Hornets, Fun Lovers, Motley Crew, Hoppers, Whiz Bangers, Good Balls, and Wreaking Balls

2022-2023 Officers and Board: President-Dave Birchill: VP- Joe Dorner: Secretary – Claudia Mescher: Treasurer- Marilyn Eekhoff: Registrar- Sandy Magnan Substitutes – Roberta Dorner: Past President – Brian Zimmerman

Thank you to all who made the Banquet a huge success.

Jim Klaseus was quite touched and sent a nice note of thanks!

BOCCE BALL VOLUNTEERS ARE THE BEST!

Thank you all for an awesome season. Stay safe and healthy over the summer months.

BOWLING CLUB

Our bowling league is comprised of 12 teams each having 4 members of which one must be of the opposite sex.
We bowl Wednesday evening 6:20P.M. at mesa east bowling alley located at 9260 East Broadway Mesa AZ 5208
 
 
Dues are $13 weekly for 11 weeks January through March
 

Check back later for updated information

More information coming soon

Congratulations to all our bowlers for a fine job of bowling this past season 2022, however kudos to our top three teams of 2022, 1st Pl Team SKOL, 2nd Pl team Spare Timers, 3rd Pl team Alley Gators. If you would like to join our league sign up sheets are in the Activity office on wall near activity window.

CERAMICS CLUB

All are welcome to join in our camaraderie and fun

Members meet in a very comfortable, friendly Ceramics Room to work on greenware pieces which have been purchased from local ceramic retailers.

Their completed pieces are beautiful, unique, and in most cases, very useful.

 

Membership is open to all Roadhaven residents. No experience is needed, we are a fun club!

Our dues are $15.00 per season. The cost of firing an item is 10% of the cost of the item.

Done for the 2021-2022 Season.

Shop Hours:
See Calendar

Ceramics will be closing Thursday, March 31st.
Last kiln firing will be Wed, March 30th.

Ceramics will be closing Thursday, March 31st.
Last Kiln firing will be Wed, March 30th.

Thank you to all the monitors and members for an awesome Season.
See you next Season.

CREATIVE CRAFTS CLUB

Creative Crafts is involved in many crafts. We make quilts, bags and a variety of fun projects.
 
Through many classes that are held during the season we are always learning new techniques and crafts.
 
The club participates in the Roadhaven Craft Show and we get together to make many items for sale.
 
We also make quilts for Bags of Love that are donated to a local church for distribution to children that are misplaced from their home.
 
We have Show & Tell every Friday morning at 9:00 in the Dakota Room.
 
We welcome all to come to see what we do.
 

Check back later for updated information

Our annual luncheon is being held on March 11th. The sign-up sheet is outside of the Creative Crafts room.
 
March 3 is the Shop Hop.
 
*Sign up sheet is outside 5e Creative Craft room.
 

This season we are not making quilts for the homeless due to lack of a leader. As much as we appreciate your donations, we ask that you hold off on bringing sheets and blankets to the sewing room. We just do not have enough room to store them.

COMPUTER CLUB

The Roadhaven Computer Club is located at the Northwest corner of the Apache Building. We have 8 Lab Stations for use by our membership and we can accommodate up to 17 laptops with individual seating. We also have networked printers/scanners that work from all lab workstations as well as from your personal device.  Click here to view our video. 

The lab is configured as a classroom with theater seating and a projector for classes. Our primary mission is to provide education and support to our membership with a goal of learning and sharing. Please come and join us! Membership fee is $20 for the entire household of Roadhaven residents.

We strive to provide a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere where computer problems and solutions can be discussed. We offer Saturday morning workshops for members with experts standing by to help with your computer problems and numerous classes on relevant computer topics.

Sign up instructions:

Sign up forms are located outside of the Computer Lab on the bulletin board.

Please make membership checks payable to: Roadhaven Computer Club.  Use any of the following options to submit your $20 check:

  • send in park mail to Computer Club
  • US mail to Computer Club, 1000 S Idaho Road, Apache Junction, AZ 85119
  • Give to any Computer Club Officer – John Schrand, Walt Novinger, Fred Reynolds, Shelly Sullivan, Rollie Girard

Class Instruction:

We offer classes for beginning thru advanced computer users from November thru March for both Mac and Windows-based systems on many subjects. We try to find volunteer instructors for all requested classes. Classes are offered free to all members. Classes available are posted on our Club Calendar.

Season 21-22 Classes included:

Introduction to Facebook, Cloud-Based Services, iPad/iPhone Tips and Tricks, iPad Maintenance, Ducks in a Row, Social Media, Windows 10 and Windows 11, Facebook Security Settings, Streaming Media, SRP Ways to Save, Windows File Management, What Can I do with my Smart Phone, Security Cameras, Photos 1, 2, 3 and 4, Video Editing, MacBook Settings, Google Chrome, Google Calendar, Gmail, Apple Watch, Shortcuts, Passwords, Extensions, Android Phones, and Chromebook.

The Computer Club is more than you might think!  Even if you have your own laptop and maybe even a printer, the Computer Club still has something to offer.

Hours:

Computer Lab hours are 9:00 am – 9:00 pm.

The season runs from November to the closing date in March/April as set by the Board of Directors annually.

The lab door is kept locked, and members may enter during open hours with the electronic access code they are provided when they join unless there is a class scheduled. Lab is equipped with copier, printer, and scanner, all available for members with a nominal fee for printing. We offer “Lab Orientation Classes” to help new members get acclimated to the lab.

Computer Problems Labs:  

Scheduled Saturday mornings (as technicians are available) provide a time when members can bring computer questions, problems, or concerns to the lab to be assisted by knowledgeable volunteers. We do not attempt to replace or do the work of professional technicians. If we can assist with a problem, we will attempt to do so. If the problem is of greater time or skill level than we can provide, we will suggest that you make arrangements with a professional technician. We do not make house calls; therefore, we cannot help you with peripheral hardware such as personal printers, scanners, et cetera. First-come, first-served; take a number for assistance. No charge for members.

Meetings:

Computer Club monthly meetings will be held in the Dakota Room adjacent to the Computer Lab. These meetings are held on the second Wednesday of each month at 9:00 am.

The meetings consist of a Business Meeting followed by opportunities to educate our members. We keep our members current with discussions about Roadhaven Resort’s progress in applying current technology to many of Roadhaven products such as Wi-Fi, Roadhaven Website, & Communication. We place a great deal of emphasis on current and future technology.  Our goal is to educate our community so that they might make wise decisions in their personal technological choices now and in the future.

Pandemic

A maximum of 12 people will be allowed in the Computer Lab at any time. This will be self-monitored.  Computer stations spaced apart.

If you are unvaccinated, you should wear a mask while in the Lab or while attending any classes.

Hand sanitizer, cleaning supplies, masks, and wipes will be available for your use.  It is appreciated that you clean off your computer station before and after your use.  This includes the desktop area, monitor border (not screen), keyboard, and chair plus any other surfaces you may have been in contact with (printer, scanner, etc.).

RHCC Classes
rhccclasses@gmail.com

View the Computer Club Calendar to see a complete schedule of upcoming classes: Computer Daily Calendar

Is the membership fee per person?

No, the membership fee is per household.

How do I sign up for classes?

Sign up on the clipboards outside of the Computer Lab in the Apache Building. If the class is full, you can sign your name on the Waitlist. If you clear you will be called.

What are the hours of the Lab?

From 9 am to 9 pm daily, except when a class is in session. There are no classes prior to 10 am daily, between 12 and 2 pm daily, between 4 and 7 pm daily and all day Saturday and Sunday. Evening classes are held on Monday and Wednesday from 7 to 9 pm.

Is there a cost for printing?

Yes, black and white is .10 per page, color is .35 per page

Can I print from my device?

Yes, as a member you will receive a password to our encrypted WiFi. Once you are on our wifi, you should see the printers in the Lab on your device for printing.

Membership dues and fees:  $20 per season per household.  Membership forms are located on the bulletin board outside of the computer lab in the Apache Building.  Once completed, please put the form plus $20 into IN PARK MAIL and send to the Computer Club. 

Classes are posted in our online Calendar. You can sign up for a class on the clipboards outside of the Computer Lab.
 

Please view our Class Schedule on our Club Calendar.

Computer Daily Calendar

Computer Club Monthly Meeting – Wednesday, March 16th at 9 am in the Dakota Room. Join us for our end of the year get together!

March Classes are posted on the Computer Club Calendar! Upcoming classes include: Make a Shutterfly book, Home Networking, Photos 1, 2 and 3, Technology for the Blind, Shortcuts, Passwords, Apps, iPhone Tips and Tricks, Windows 11, Extensions, Windows File Management, Security Cameras, Google Calendar, Ducks in a Row, Chrome/Edge Tips and Tricks, Android Phones.

We will continue our Saturday Morning help sessions from 9 to 11 am for all members of the club who have an issue they need help with. There is no need to sign up ahead of time, just show up and have patience as we help everyone. Issues include, general questions, Calendar, Photos, email issues, scanning and printing, device settings, social media, Chromebook, etc.

CREATIVE CRAFTS CLUB

Creative Crafts is involved in many crafts. We make quilts, bags and a variety of fun projects.
 
Through many classes that are held during the season we are always learning new techniques and crafts.
 
The club participates in the Roadhaven Craft Show and we get together to make many items for sale.
 
We also make quilts for Bags of Love that are donated to a local church for distribution to children that are misplaced from their home.
 
We have Show & Tell every Friday morning at 9:00 in the Dakota Room.
 
We welcome all to come to see what we do.
 

Check back later for updated information

Our annual luncheon is being held on March 11th. The sign-up sheet is outside of the Creative Crafts room.
 
March 3 is the Shop Hop.
 
*Sign up sheet is outside 5e Creative Craft room.
 

This season we are not making quilts for the homeless due to lack of a leader. As much as we appreciate your donations, we ask that you hold off on bringing sheets and blankets to the sewing room. We just do not have enough room to store them.

COMPUTER CLUB

The Roadhaven Computer Club is located at the Northwest corner of the Apache Building. We have 8 Lab Stations for use by our membership and we can accommodate up to 17 laptops with individual seating. We also have networked printers/scanners that work from all lab workstations as well as from your personal device.  Click here to view our video. 

The lab is configured as a classroom with theater seating and a projector for classes. Our primary mission is to provide education and support to our membership with a goal of learning and sharing. Please come and join us! Membership fee is $20 for the entire household of Roadhaven residents.

We strive to provide a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere where computer problems and solutions can be discussed. We offer Saturday morning workshops for members with experts standing by to help with your computer problems and numerous classes on relevant computer topics.

Sign up instructions:

Sign up forms are located outside of the Computer Lab on the bulletin board.

Please make membership checks payable to: Roadhaven Computer Club.  Use any of the following options to submit your $20 check:

  • send in park mail to Computer Club
  • US mail to Computer Club, 1000 S Idaho Road, Apache Junction, AZ 85119
  • Give to any Computer Club Officer – John Schrand, Walt Novinger, Fred Reynolds, Shelly Sullivan, Rollie Girard

Class Instruction:

We offer classes for beginning thru advanced computer users from November thru March for both Mac and Windows-based systems on many subjects. We try to find volunteer instructors for all requested classes. Classes are offered free to all members. Classes available are posted on our Club Calendar.

Season 21-22 Classes included:

Introduction to Facebook, Cloud-Based Services, iPad/iPhone Tips and Tricks, iPad Maintenance, Ducks in a Row, Social Media, Windows 10 and Windows 11, Facebook Security Settings, Streaming Media, SRP Ways to Save, Windows File Management, What Can I do with my Smart Phone, Security Cameras, Photos 1, 2, 3 and 4, Video Editing, MacBook Settings, Google Chrome, Google Calendar, Gmail, Apple Watch, Shortcuts, Passwords, Extensions, Android Phones, and Chromebook.

The Computer Club is more than you might think!  Even if you have your own laptop and maybe even a printer, the Computer Club still has something to offer.

Hours:

Computer Lab hours are 9:00 am – 9:00 pm.

The season runs from November to the closing date in March/April as set by the Board of Directors annually.

The lab door is kept locked, and members may enter during open hours with the electronic access code they are provided when they join unless there is a class scheduled. Lab is equipped with copier, printer, and scanner, all available for members with a nominal fee for printing. We offer “Lab Orientation Classes” to help new members get acclimated to the lab.

Computer Problems Labs:  

Scheduled Saturday mornings (as technicians are available) provide a time when members can bring computer questions, problems, or concerns to the lab to be assisted by knowledgeable volunteers. We do not attempt to replace or do the work of professional technicians. If we can assist with a problem, we will attempt to do so. If the problem is of greater time or skill level than we can provide, we will suggest that you make arrangements with a professional technician. We do not make house calls; therefore, we cannot help you with peripheral hardware such as personal printers, scanners, et cetera. First-come, first-served; take a number for assistance. No charge for members.

Meetings:

Computer Club monthly meetings will be held in the Dakota Room adjacent to the Computer Lab. These meetings are held on the second Wednesday of each month at 9:00 am.

The meetings consist of a Business Meeting followed by opportunities to educate our members. We keep our members current with discussions about Roadhaven Resort’s progress in applying current technology to many of Roadhaven products such as Wi-Fi, Roadhaven Website, & Communication. We place a great deal of emphasis on current and future technology.  Our goal is to educate our community so that they might make wise decisions in their personal technological choices now and in the future.

Pandemic

A maximum of 12 people will be allowed in the Computer Lab at any time. This will be self-monitored.  Computer stations spaced apart.

If you are unvaccinated, you should wear a mask while in the Lab or while attending any classes.

Hand sanitizer, cleaning supplies, masks, and wipes will be available for your use.  It is appreciated that you clean off your computer station before and after your use.  This includes the desktop area, monitor border (not screen), keyboard, and chair plus any other surfaces you may have been in contact with (printer, scanner, etc.).

RHCC Classes
rhccclasses@gmail.com

View the Computer Club Calendar to see a complete schedule of upcoming classes: Computer Daily Calendar

Is the membership fee per person?

No, the membership fee is per household.

How do I sign up for classes?

Sign up on the clipboards outside of the Computer Lab in the Apache Building. If the class is full, you can sign your name on the Waitlist. If you clear you will be called.

What are the hours of the Lab?

From 9 am to 9 pm daily, except when a class is in session. There are no classes prior to 10 am daily, between 12 and 2 pm daily, between 4 and 7 pm daily and all day Saturday and Sunday. Evening classes are held on Monday and Wednesday from 7 to 9 pm.

Is there a cost for printing?

Yes, black and white is .10 per page, color is .35 per page

Can I print from my device?

Yes, as a member you will receive a password to our encrypted WiFi. Once you are on our wifi, you should see the printers in the Lab on your device for printing.

Membership dues and fees:  $20 per season per household.  Membership forms are located on the bulletin board outside of the computer lab in the Apache Building.  Once completed, please put the form plus $20 into IN PARK MAIL and send to the Computer Club. 

Classes are posted in our online Calendar. You can sign up for a class on the clipboards outside of the Computer Lab.
 

Please view our Class Schedule on our Club Calendar.

Computer Daily Calendar

Computer Club Monthly Meeting – Wednesday, March 16th at 9 am in the Dakota Room. Join us for our end of the year get together!

March Classes are posted on the Computer Club Calendar! Upcoming classes include: Make a Shutterfly book, Home Networking, Photos 1, 2 and 3, Technology for the Blind, Shortcuts, Passwords, Apps, iPhone Tips and Tricks, Windows 11, Extensions, Windows File Management, Security Cameras, Google Calendar, Ducks in a Row, Chrome/Edge Tips and Tricks, Android Phones.

We will continue our Saturday Morning help sessions from 9 to 11 am for all members of the club who have an issue they need help with. There is no need to sign up ahead of time, just show up and have patience as we help everyone. Issues include, general questions, Calendar, Photos, email issues, scanning and printing, device settings, social media, Chromebook, etc.

GLASS CRAFTERS CLUB

The Glass Crafters Club provides instruction in many aspects of stained glass work and provides a well equipped shop in which members can learn, practice, and create glass projects.

Check back later for updated information

Membership dues are $15.00 and is open to all Roadhaven residents.

Each member is expected to contribute time to help maintain the shop.

Glass Crafters will be holding our annual fundraiser again this year. We will be raffling off many items made by our members. Come and check out some of the items. They will be on display in the studio window. We will also be offering a few special items in a silent auction. Raffle tickets will be available after the first of the year.

The Glass Crafters shop is open seasonally, Monday through Friday, from 9:00 pm – 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm – 4:00 pm.

Some evening hours are also available.

This summer we acquired a large new kiln and had the rest of our kilns all checked for repairs and safety. New electrical outlets were installed to allow for more workstations.

GENEALOGY CLUB

Get ready to build your family history. A genealogy club is a group of individuals who get together to talk about and work on their personal genealogical research. They gather to share tips, exchange information, and talk about their history. You can learn how to prepare a research plan, evaluate evidence and techniques to discover new sources. Learn how to evaluate genealogical software and improve your skill in reading old handwriting. Meet with us every Tuesday in the Rec Hall from 10am – noon. If you’d like more information about this interesting club, please contact Wayne Ratcliff.

  • Question: How do get started doing Genealogy
  • Answer: Come join our meetings, we can help! Question: I’ve hit a brick wall and can’t get find my ancestors, can you help? Answer: Come to our meeting, we have gurus that can help get you going!

No fees to participate

  • We have luncheons at Oasis, we will reach out to members to let them know when.

We meet every Tuesday from 10:00 am – 12:00 pm in the Rec Hall

  • Sue Hodgkinson is teaching creative writing for ancestry on March 8, 2022, at 10 am in the Rec Hall We are also teaching indexing and how to save your files on ancestry on March 8, 2022, at 10 am in the Rec Hall Pauline Shaw will be talking about what is available in the Genealogy building in Salt Lake City on March 15, 2022, at 10 am in the Rec Hall

GLASS CRAFTERS CLUB

The Glass Crafters Club provides instruction in many aspects of stained glass work and provides a well equipped shop in which members can learn, practice, and create glass projects.

Check back later for updated information

Membership dues are $15.00 and is open to all Roadhaven residents.

Each member is expected to contribute time to help maintain the shop.

Glass Crafters will be holding our annual fundraiser again this year. We will be raffling off many items made by our members. Come and check out some of the items. They will be on display in the studio window. We will also be offering a few special items in a silent auction. Raffle tickets will be available after the first of the year.

The Glass Crafters shop is open seasonally, Monday through Friday, from 9:00 pm – 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm – 4:00 pm.

Some evening hours are also available.

This summer we acquired a large new kiln and had the rest of our kilns all checked for repairs and safety. New electrical outlets were installed to allow for more workstations.

HIKING CLUB

Try it. You’ll like it!

If you enjoy our beautiful Arizona mountains and deserts, the Roadhaven Hiking Club has some fun in store for you! We schedule hikes for people at various levels of fitness and experience, from short hikes on level terrain to long treks up mountains or down into canyons. We offer several hikes most weeks, and we are also making plans for an overnight camping trip in March. In between those activities, we are arranging for monthly socials during the winter. 

To learn more about the hiking club, come to the hikers’ bulletin boards in the hallway between the Activities Office and the Card Room. You can see which hikes are being offered each week and get more information. Come and enjoy Arizona’s breathtaking views with us!

Check back later for updated information. 

There are no membership requirements. Anyone may try out a Hiking Club hike two times before paying any dues. After that, dues are $5 per year. 

Social Event: 

UPDATED!

The Hiking Club social would have been Wednesday, February 23, but now it will be on Sunday, February 27, from 4:30-6:15 PM, instead, due to Wednesday’s stormy weather forecast.  It will still be located in the desert behind the Multi-Generation Center at 1035 North Idaho Road.  Each person should still bring a lawn chair, snack and beverage.  (No sharing of food this time due to Covid-19 concerns.)  We look forward to seeing current or former hikers as well as their spouses.

Our morning hikes are on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.

The Roadhaven Hiking Club enjoyed its annual spring picnic on the evening of March 15 in Lost Dutchman State Park. They began with a hike, then gathered in a pavilion to eat, and followed the meal with a campfire and a sing-along. What a fine way to cap off the season!
There are still hikes going out each week. Come and check the hikers’ bulletin boards in the hallway between the Activities Office and the Card Room for the latest postings of hikes! It’s a perfect time to enjoy the desert flowers in bloom!

Karaoke CLUB

If there is one thing you can take away from singing karaoke, it’s that it’s very fun. Whether you choose to sing or not, chances are you will enjoy the singers. If you don’t want to sing, you can line dance or slow dance to some of the songs that are being sung or just come and listen.

What is Karaoke?
 
Karaoke is a small club that promotes singing in the Roadhaven Resort. We meet every Tuesday in the Rec Hall from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m.. We encourage people to come and see how we use the TV screens with the lyrics and background music. Our system is awesome and the song library contains at least 70,000 songs done by several different artists. We welcome singers, listeners, dancers!
 
Can anyone sing? How does it work?
 
All are encouraged to sing.
There is no judgment, only encouragement. If you want others who may know your song will sing along as encouragement and support. Our MC, Gene, will sing along and provide sound support and suggestions.
  • $10 per person
  • $10 per couple or housing unit

See you at next year’s fundraiser in February 2023!

Our Roadhaven Karaoke Club meets every Tuesday in the Rec Hall. 2 to 5 PM. If you want to practice, come at 1:30 and Gene can help you find the right key and you’ll have a chance for a run-through. Our tentative start-up date for next season is November 15th. Watch for confirmation.
In most of the cases when karaoke sessions take place, a gathering of friends come together. You can also meet new people and have fun while you are at it. This year we had quite a few new singers “Karaoke Virgins” who have joined our club. A big Thank you to M.J. for recognizing our new singers and presenting them with their own Karaoke Virgin Pin. We are so happy to see our Karaoke Club grow. We wish everyone a safe and fun summer. Hope to see and hear you next season!

LAPIDARY CLUB

Come join us – it’s a great opportunity to learn a new craft

The Lapidary is open Monday to Friday. 9:00am to 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm until 4:00

Yes, we do give lessons on cutting, forming and polishing rocks.

The membership dues is $20.00 for the season.

Our Lapidary/Silversmith fundraiser dance is canceled this year. We are still having our raffle. We are selling raffle tickets on items our members have handcrafted in the Lapidary shop. Tickets can be purchased from a member, at the shop during open hours and we also have a table at the Roadhaven Craft Sales.

Tickets are 6 tickets for $5.00 or one ticket for $1.00. Our draw date is the 12th of March at the Craft Sale.

Click here to view some of the prizes!

Raffle fundraiser draw date is March 12th at the Roadhaven Craft Show in the main hall.

Get your raffle tickets!!

MEN'S DAY GOLF LEAGUE

Join Men’s league and enjoy a little competitive golf. Get in on the Match Play Tournament. Team Play will probably be full by the first of the year. Try to get a part of the “hole in one” jackpot. Sign up on one of the weekly tee time sheets (on the men’s bulletin board in the club house hallway) before Wednesday noon and then show up at your assigned starting hole according to the tee time that you signed up for. An email will be sent Wednesday afternoon to indicate where your starting hole is. Questions, contact Email Ted Reisdorfer

Can’t play every Thursday? No problem! Just play the Thursdays that work for you. Golfers pay $2 each Thursday that they play. This is used to fund our weekly payout. We flight members according to their Roadhaven handicap with the goal of a payout to approximately 25 percent of the week’s players. Handicap flighting puts everyone on an even keel. The inexperienced golfer has just as much of a chance of winning as the experienced golfer.

Sign up on one of the weekly tee timesheets (on the men’s bulletin board in the clubhouse hallway) before Wednesday noon and then show up about 15 minutes before your tee time on Thursday.

You must have a seasonal or monthly membership, or a punch card to play in Men’s Day Golf league. Our league membership fee is $10 of which $5 goes to our “hole in one” fund, which is divided between members who get a “hole in one” during league play or one of our tournaments. The other $5 is used to offset some of the expense of our BBQs.

Golf Fundraiser to be held on March 6th at Roadhaven Golf Course

9AM Check in 

10AM Tee off (shot gun start/ best ball) 12:30 Social (BYOB) 

Lunch and Social (patio and green room) 1-3:00 

$20 per golfer (includes 9 holes of golf and lunch) registration at club house only $5 lunch only (collected that day)

Raffle tickets available for a year membership to Roadhaven Golf 50/50 and other raffle items available.

March 6th at Roadhaven Golf Tournament

Join Men’s league and enjoy a little competitive golf.  Try to get a part of the “hole in one” jackpot.  Sign up on one of the weekly tee time sheets (on the men’s bulletin board in the club house hallway) before Wednesday noon and then show up at your assigned starting hole according to the tee time that you signed up for.  An email will be sent Wednesday afternoon to indicate where your starting hole is.

Questions, Email Ted Reisdorfer or call 507-360-1730

PARKETTES CLUB

The Roadhaven Parkettes Marching Drill Team is made up of ladies who enjoy fellowship & exercise while learning marching routines.

More information coming soon

More information coming soon

Check back later for updated information

More information coming soon

Check back later for updated information

PICKLEBALL CLUB

Come join the fun, laughter and camaraderie

Roadhaven’s Pickleball Club is already in the swing of things for the 2021/2022 season. The schedule of court activity is posted on the bulletin board at the courts as well as being part of the membership application, which are also available at the courts. The pickleball courts are located next to the phase one tennis courts and just across the canal from the shuffleboard courts. Our club president this season is Cindy Proctor, who may be emailed here. She is a great source of information on the club. Alternatively, you may also contact our vice president, email Marty Eckerman.

We have three courts located by the main tennis complex and shuffle courts.

Open play is listed on the schedule and is for non-members and members. 

If you are new to the game we have extra paddles for your use.

Ask any member you see at the courts and we will be happy to get you started.

While the courts do have scheduled times for anyone to play pickleball, whether club members or not, the best option for learning and playing is to join the club. Once you become a member, the club will communicate with you by email regarding activities.

Here is a complete list of contacts for the club for the current season: President, Cindy Proctor  ; Vice President, Marty Eckerman; Treasurer, Lise Jennings ; Secretary, Scott Faris . Now, go forth and dink your hearts out* *A dink is a shot you use to make your opponent’s next shot unattackable. To learn more fun pickleball terms, join us on the courts.

The dues for the 2021/2022 season remain the same as prior years at $25 per person. Family or guests staying for a short time at Roadhaven may purchase a restricted membership good for 14 days for $10.

Members enjoy our tournament in February and the Can/Am tournament in March.

 

Of particular interest to those who are either curious about pickleball or are new pickleballers, on Tuesdays from 12:00 to 2:00 pm the club is hosting beginner lessons. We encourage anyone in the park to come join us and learn the fundamentals of our very fun, energetic, and highly social sport. We also have a club meeting each Wednesday morning at 9:30 at the courts to stay up to date on club happenings and plans.

The Pickleball Club has several goals for the year which are focused on doing things outside of regularly scheduled member playtimes.  The goal is to fill the day with afternoon and/ or evening events.  If you want to follow the Club, please access it’s Facebook page. 

One of the afternoon events that we have scheduled is round robin tournaments.  These are informal tournaments which essentially allow players of similar ratings to play together and record the scores. 

Another event is a ladder league.  The ladder league allows players of different ratings to play together.  In essence, winners advance up the ladder and non-winners advance down the ladder with the effect that players of similar skills end up playing together.  The ladder leagues are scheduled to be on Mondays in the afternoon and each player will play 4 games. 

The Club recently concluded an informal tournament.  For this tournament there were 4 teams of 10 players each.  A captain was assigned for each team to coordinate players of different skill levels together as partners for the duration of the tournament.  The tournament ran for 2 days and was a lot of fun.  The winning team received a prize to share with the team members. 

The members’ tournament based on skill ratings will be held in mid-February.  This will include referees and line judges, so it is more formal than the round robin, ladder or January tournaments. 

The Club is always open to new players and offers beginner lessons each week. Come check us out!

 

Par Tee Girls Golf League

We welcome lady golfers to join Par Tee Girls any time during the season/year

Captain – Lavern Czichozki

Secretary – Judy Chapman

Treasurer – Jacky Beatty

Check back later for updated information

  • $15 per season
  • $5 for hole in one
 

March 6th at Roadhaven Golf Course

Golf Fundraiser to be held on 9am check-in 

Tee off (shot gun start/ best ball) 10am

Social (BYOB) 12:30 

Lunch and Social (patio and green room) 1-3:00 

$20 per golfer (includes 9 holes of golf and lunch) registration at club house only $5 lunch only (collected that day)

Raffle tickets available for a year membership to Roadhaven Golf 50/50 and other raffle items available.

 

Style Show was cancelled for 2022.
 

March 6 – at Roadhaven Golf Tournament

March 1 – Mardi Gras Parade

March 8, 9 – Annual golf tournament and social

General meeting held Feb 23. New co-captain, Jackie Brady, joining the executive.
 

PHOTOGRAPHY CLUB

” Our objective is to share, learn, and enjoy our hobby of photography”

Typically during the season we meet on the first Monday of the month, at 9AM in the Green Room. During the meeting we will have some photography instruction, view and discuss photos from club photoshoots, etc. We also plan a photoshoot usually sometime in the middle of the month. Details will be provided under the “Important Dates” and/or “Latest Announcements”  section. 

Our club has our own private Facebook Group where we post photos, photography related information and planned activities.

All cameras and cellphones are welcome, whatever you enjoy taking photos with.

 

Check back later for updated information

No membership dues or fees at this time. Members may incur an expense for entry fees at a photoshoot location.

More here after our March 7th meeting.

March 16th – The Riparian Reserve at Water Ranch in Gilbert. Website: https://www.gilbertaz.gov/…/riparian-preserve-at-water… We will meet at the Green Room parking lot at 1PM and go from there.

Just a reminder our photoshoot at the Riparian Reserve at Water Ranch is scheduled for tomorrow, Wednesday the 16th. We will meet at the Green Room parking lot at 1 PM and go from there.

Also, the Cougar Shadow on the Superstition Mountains photoshoot has been scheduled for Friday, March 18th at 5:30 PM. Meet at the Green Room parking lot and we will carpool from there. Our first choice location is near the intersection of Superstition Blvd and Goldfield Rd, just a few blocks east on Superstition on the north side there is a trail head under power lines. A backup choice is at the intersection of Goldfield Rd and 4th, parking on the east side of Goldfield Rd. Ideally, if you have a lens that can zoom to around 135mm you will want to bring it. We need to be set up and prepared to shoot by 6 PM.

Thanks to Melonie for checking on the shadow yesterday and letting us know of its progress and timing!

Tom Ekblad and Ken Close

SEND US A MESSAGE


RHYTHMS IN BLUE

We have a new director this season. His name is Don Warrick! Don just recently moved to Roadhaven. He is a choral director with decades of experience! He has conducted Handel’s Messiah, Vivaldi’s Gloria, and everything from Pachelbel to POP!!! Don taught voice at Wright State University for 10 years and was featured performer with the Dayton Philharmonic! We are hoping many of our new residents will want to become involved in this FUN group! WE ARE PRESENTLY IN NEED OF AN ACCOMPANIST, SO IF YOU KNOW SOMEONE OR CAN HELP YOURSELF, PLEASE LET US KNOW! You can email Don Warrick with questions.

Check back later for updated information

Check back later for updated information

Check back later for updated information

“Rhythms in Blue” will start rehearsing in January! After a year and a half off because of Covid, we are ready to make music once again. Please join us for a once-a-week rehearsal in the Dakota Room (Thursdays from 4:00 to 6:00). 

Spring Concert

If you love choral music, you will love Rhythms in Blue.  Our Spring Concert is FREE on Wednesday March 16th in the Rec Hall at 7:00pm and we would love to have you join us.  We will be singing Early American favorites to Broadway. 

For more information, or if you are interested in singing with the chorale, email the Director, Don Warrick.

SHUFFLEBOARD CLUB

The Roadhaven Shuffleboard Club works hard to provide a structured organization with which to operate and maintain the Shuffleboard Facility for the enjoyment and use by residents of Roadhaven.

Arizona Shuffleboard Association provides all state and district info including the 2021-2022 all district calendar Azsaweb

They organize and direct Shuffleboard Fall and Spring in park Leagues, tournament and novelty play activities along with providing learning opportunities to interested residents of Roadhaven in shuffleboard game rules, strategies and play techniques. 

Residents are allowed to play in the organized Potluck games, which are held Monday to Thursday at 9:00 am. New players can play 5 games before they have to register as a club member. Membership is $20 per year.

The shuffleboard facilities are available 7 days a week. Visitors are allowed to use the facilities as long as they are accompanied by a current member of the Roadhaven Shuffleboard Club. No children under 12 years of age are allowed on the courts. Children over 12 are allowed with adult supervision only.

The Shuffleboard Club hosts a Memorial Tournament, Singles Tournament and Battle of the Sexes Tournament for members of the club.  The club also hosts the Roadhaven Cash Tournament for shufflers in the East Valley. There are several social events throughout the season.

New players are welcome to stop in at the courts any morning during the week to learn to play and find out about membership.

More information coming soon

Check back later for updated information

More information coming soon

The Can/Am shuffle game was held with the end of year social for shuffleboard on Sunday ….great fun and the challenge is on for the USA to win next year! Congratulations to the Canadians on their win this year!

SILVERSMITH CLUB

Silversmith Club enjoys crafting objects from silver. Our members are happy to share their skills with others. It is a fun and interesting art form.

We have a beautifully stocked shop with tools for any design technique. 

Lessons are available to learn the basic techniques for working with silver.

All tools are provided in the shop. You only need to supply your raw materials and creative ideas.

Membership is open to all residents of Roadhaven and the cost, for the season, is $20.00.

March 10 is silversmith / lapidary year end party in the rec hall. 4:30 setup, party to start at 5:30.

March 12 we will have our silversmith / lapidary raffle drawing at 11:30 in the rec hall after the craft show.

Tickets are 6 tickets for $5.00 or one ticket for $1.00. Our draw date is the 12th of March at the Craft Sale.

Click here to view some of the prizes!

We are open Monday through Friday, from 9:00 am – 12:00 pm and again from 1:00 pm – 4:00 pm. Monitors are available for assistance during shop hours.

Wednesday March 9 is our last meeting of the year. We will be voting on secretary for next year. Time is 11:00 in our silversmith shop.

Check back later for updated information

SOFTBALL 125

For the Fall and Winter Seasons, Roadhaven Softball will sponsor League Teams and will have Tournament teams playing throughout the Valley and surrounding area. Teams, playing days and playing locations will vary. In addition to league play, Tournament teams will compete in Tournaments throughout the winter season. We extend a warm welcome to all spectators to come out and support your Softball Teams – and watch this exciting senior sport. Games, times, locations etc., can be determined by visiting the Roadhaven Softball web-site, located on the Roadhaven home web-site. Just click on “Clubs” then “Softball” then “Calendar”, then log-in to access the entire season of Softball activities. Beyond their time on the diamonds, members of the Softball Association work diligently on behalf of Roadhaven residents in the operation of the aluminum can recycling program for the park, along with the set-up/tear-down services for special events. We thank all Roadhaven residents for your support of these programs and for your support at our games. Through your active support of our programs, Roadhaven Softball continues to significantly contribute to the quality of life in our great park. We invite you to follow us: on the web; at our coming events; and especially at the ball diamonds.

We are always looking for new members

For more information, email us at rdhvnsoftball@gmail.com or contact any Softball Commission Member.

CanAm Game @ Prospector Park Sunday Feb. 27th at 1:00 PM
 

The season usually winds up in early March.

Currently the Softball Club sponsors a CanAm game in late February with a friendly competition pitting the Canadians players vs. the American players and a CanAm party to follow.

“Spring Training” normally begins the first of November, with practices open to all, usually held at Prospector Park at 9:00 am based on available days to book diamonds. We plan to have at least one team entered in a Fall League in Apache Junction or Mesa.

CanAm Game Sunday Feb. 27th at Prospector Park 1:00 PM
 

SQUARE & COMPASS CLUB

The Square & Compass Club is composed of masons from the United States and Canada.

We thank you for supporting our Pancake and French Toast Breakfasts in the Rec Hall.

We use the profits to support clubs and Roadhaven projects.

Our breakfasts are the 3rd Saturday of each month (November through March).

Join us for a good breakfast and fellowship.

Check back later for updated information

Check back later for updated information

Check back later for updated information

Check back later for updated information

Check back later for updated information

TENNIS CLUB

Weekly league tennis, club events, and popular social activities throughout the season

The Roadhaven Tennis Club has provided league play with other Arizona Parks for the past 30 years. The club has taught thousands of retired seniors how to play or re-learn to play doubles tennis.

The tennis club attracts active residents who want to achieve an active and social lifestyle. The club also attracts social members who have heard that the Tennis Club has the best parties. The club encourages beginners.

Whether a beginner or a seasoned player, bring a tennis racquet with some enthusiasm and join us in this great game. It’s not only fun but it keeps you in shape, whatever your age or become a social member and enjoy your many new friends.

Beginner’s lessons are available for all ages and we range from 55 to nearly 90. This exemplifies the variation in talents, and new people are continually bringing fresh talent and fresh enthusiasm. If they have no interest in tennis or are physically incapable of play, they can be a social member allowing participation in all club activities except those of leadership.

Aside from the many privately arranged games played within Roadhaven, there are organized competitive team matches and tournaments with other park teams as part of the East Valley Senior Tennis League (EVSTL). Each league team has its own Captain. League play includes one match and one practice session a week.

There are 6 proficiency levels: 1.5, 2.0, 2.5, 3.0, 3.5, and 4.0. All teams at each level have a Captain that arranges the weekly competition with other resorts. Be assured, every level, including the lowest, has its joy and satisfaction, although because of the number of players on each team at each level, there is no guarantee that you will play league every week. Captains try to play as many people as possible each week, but it depends upon how many teams the opposition sends too.

 

 

Club Fee:

$40.00/person for a tennis membership. $10.00/person for a social membership.
Fill out a Registration Form (on the bulletin board at the Gazebo).

Our “Welcome Back” party will be Sunday November 6th. The Tennis Club Holiday Get-Together will be Sunday December 12th.
EVSTL League play for both TenCap and Rec players begins on Monday October 31st. We are partnering with Sunland Village for 2022-2023. Our new team name in the schedule will be RSV.
 
The Annual Venture Out “Fall Classic” Tournament will be October 24th – 29th. Check out the fun!!
 

WOODWORKING CLUB

All Roadhaven residents are encouraged to join and take advantage of our shop

The Roadhaven Woodworkers Club would like to extend our welcome to all Roadhaven residents. We invite you to drop by our woodshop and bring your guests, we’ll be pleased to give you a tour of our facilities.

If you’d like to take a virtual tour of the woodshop, click here.

Our wood working shop provides a clean, modern, and safe environment for beginners and skilled woodworkers to design and fabricate craft items for their own enjoyment.

We will also do wood working projects for other clubs and our community.

Our monitor on duty will do small jobs for non-members as time permits, we do ask for donations to cover expenses.

Knowledgeable monitors are on duty every day to answer questions and assist members with their woodworking projects.

Safety is our prime concern so a qualified monitor is on duty at all times.

We have a dust collection and air filtration systems to reduce air born sawdust to a minimum.

Brads, staples, glue and sandpaper are provided. Wood and other fasteners are to be supplied by members.

Dues are $20.00 per season. That includes the use of top-of-the-line equipment, sandpaper, glue, and other shop necessities. A lot of free advice comes with. 

We were disappointed that we were unable to have our Spaghetti Dinner again this year but were able to hold a successful Woodcraft Raffle this year. Thank you for the many donations from the members and most of all the support from the Roadhaven community. Thank you to the Roadhaven staff for assistance in advertising the event. Over 55 projects have new homes.

The shop is open Monday through Friday, between November, through March, from 9:00 am to 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm.

Check the shop entry doors for off-season hours.

We are looking forward to conducting several of each bowl turning, segmented bowl turning and beginner woodworker classes. As always, we have enjoyed the interaction between members which provides great opportunities to learn to make new projects, learn how many of the old standbys are produced and a general sharing for woodworking knowledge and skills. Mostly a lot of general sharing.

We invite all residents of our park to drop by the woodshop to see our facility. One of our knowledgeable monitors will be happy to show you around. The shop will remain open as long as there are monitors available through March and into April. They are on duty from Monday to Friday from 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM and from 1:00 PM to 4:00 PM to answer questions and help members with their projects and operation of the equipment.

Woodshop

CARD PLAYING GROUPS ANNOUNCEMENTS

CLICK TO VIEW EACH GROUPS LATEST ANNOUNCEMENTS AND MESSAGES

Join us Tuesdays & Fridays at 7:00 pm in the Green Room. Euchre is a card game where 4 players (2 teams of 2) take turns playing cards to win tricks. Partners sit across from each other and cooperate to win. It’s an easy game to learn and a lot of FUN if you’re just learning how to play. Everyone Welcome!

Join us Tuesday 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm in the Card Room. Fee is .25¢ to play, please bring proof of vaccination.

Join us Sundays and Wednesdays from 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm in the Card Room.

Friday 1 pm Social Duplicate Bridge. Bring .50¢, a smile, a partner and your vaccination certificate. Don’t pass up a chance to exercise your mind and have fun.

No partner? Come early and we will try to find one for you. Haven’t played in a long time? Come and watch. It will be a refresher from you. See you at the bridge table.

Email Luci Weinman with questions.  

Join us Fridays at 1:00 pm in the Card Room. 

Join us Tuesdays at 6:00 pm in the Dakota Room.

Join us Sundays at 1:00 pm in the Dakota Room and Fridays at 1:00 pm in the Poker Room.

Join us Mondays and Saturdays at 6:00 pm in the Card Room.

Join us Wednesdays at 7:00 pm in the Dakota Room. 

Join us Fridays at 7 pm in the Poker Room. 

Join us Thursdays at 7:00 pm in the Dakota Room. 

Join us Mondays and Thursdays at 7:00 pm in the Card Room. 

Join us Thursdays at 7:00 pm in the Poker Room. 

Join us Fridays at 7 pm in the Card Room. 

Join us Tuesday at 1:00 pm in the Card Room. 

Are you a beginner? Join us Thursdays at 1:00 pm in the Dakota Room. 

AUXILIARY GROUPS ANNOUNCEMENTS

Aerobic Walking takes place on Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, & Friday mornings 7:30am – 8:30am

Morning Yoga has a time change. Mondays, Wednesdays, & Fridays 8:30am to 9:30am in the Rec Hall. All are welcome from beginner to intermediate

Water Aerobics Monday – Friday with Pool Noodle 7:30am – 8:30am

Phase 1 Pool (Rec Hall Pool)

Pool Aerobics class every morning from 9am – 10am Phase 1 Pool (Rec Hall Pool). This follows the Pool Noodle Class.

Water Volleyball is played on Tuesdays, Thursdays, & Saturdays from 11am to 1pm at the Phase 1 Pool (Rec Hall Pool).

Free Line Dancing Wednesdays in the Rec Hall at 11:30am. Advance line dancing starts at 12:30pm. All are welcome

Want to learn how to carve? Sign up now for the February 14th and 15th introductory Chip Carving Class and make something for that special someone in your life. Must pre-register and pre-pay $20.00. Email Jim Lindgren to pre-register. 

You have an eager instructor and a class set of Chip Carving Knives. There will be classes if we have enough interest. The cost will be $20 per class, which includes the use of a knife (knives will be loaned out for classes and gathered at the end of each class), a practice board, and 2 beginner projects. Email Jim Lindgren if you have any questions. 

Tickets on Sale Now!

What: Bingo Blowout

When: March 24, 2022. 

Where: Rec Hall, 2:00 pm 

Tickets: $10 buy in, includes 9 games and coverall.

BYOB & Snacks

No updates here. Check back again soon for important information.

Christian Fellowship will meet Monday night January 10th 7 p.m. in the Dakota room.


Christian Fellowship is a time to get together for fun, entertainment and fellowship. We will be holding meetings the 2nd and 4th Monday night of January, February and March.


January 10th we will have a short program by Pastor Arlan Hoskins. We will also talk about positive New Year’s Resolutions to make rather than taking away negative habits.


On January 24, we will have a speaker from Sunshine Acres, Pastor Tim Hall. He will update us on the latest news from this great facility.


February 14 will be a Valentine’s Day celebration. February 28 will feature members from the Gospel Tones. We have been blessed to hear their inspirational music before.

We plan on you joining us. Any suggestions for future programs is welcomed .

We meet every Thursday from 9 a.m. to noon in he Dakota Room. Come help us turn plastic bags and plastic tablecloths into sleeping mats for the homeless.

Women’s Bible Study. We meet at 9am on Tuesday mornings in the Green Room. If you’d like more information, Email Sylvia Stern.

No updates here. Check back again soon for important information.

Cost is $1.00 per week plus $1.00 for the season for the “Hole in One” pot. Sign-up sheet is in the Golf Shop hallway. Please sign up by 12:00 noon the Saturday before.

Cayman Golf will be played every Monday starting with the first tee time at 9:00 a.m. Tee times will be assigned by Sunday afternoon. We play a 4-person mixed scramble. Each golfer must use their tee shot on 2 holes, excluding hole #4. Hole #4 everyone will hit from the drop zone across the lake. It is a good way to meet new people. If you are interested or have questions, please call the Golf Shop, 480-982-4653.

Cayman offers an exciting new approach to the game of golf!  The Cayman is a golf ball developed to play like a conventional golf ball in every way except to travel approximately half the distance.  Also the Cayman ball floats on water hazards.  The Cayman rewards the player for a well hit ball.   

 

 

Paid Advertisments and Sponsors

Event Flyers and Promos

Compare listings

Compare